Lessons from Dad

Standard

Tomorrow is Father’s Day so in honour of all the dads out there I thought I’d do a post today about some wonderful things that we can learn from dads. From dads in cartoons, to those in the animal kingdom, to movie dads and even a little about my own dad.

The animated movie, Finding Nemo, is one of the cutest stories about the relationship between a father and their growing child. Nemo’s Dad, Marlin, is a very loving father and also protective. As Nemo is getting older Marlin still wants to protect him from the world but needs to learn to give him a little bit of independence. One day, after ignoring his father, Nemo gets scooped up by fisherman. Marlin is distraught at the thought of having lost his only son and goes on a big adventure to find him.

Marlin and his son Nemo

He loves little Nemo so much that it didn’t matter how big the ocean was, or how many scary things were out there, he was determined to find his son. And in all of this adventure he demonstrates to his son that you should never give up. I’m sure most of you have seen this movie, but if you haven’t I really suggest you do. It’s simply beautiful and funny too.

And from one animal to another, the real life cassowary. Just before Winter each year, the female cassowary, mates with various males and then lays several groups of 3-5 eggs from different fathers. The eggs are generally green to blue in colour and are about 14-15 cm long. The male cassowary is solely responsible for incubating the eggs and raising the young. They sit on the nest for 50 days until the eggs hatch. The single dad then teaches the yellow and brown striped chicks how to scavenge and by nine months they become independent. I believe this is also a common scenario with the Australian emu too. What a true daddy hero!

Daddy cassowary and his chicks

There is one great movie moment that always comes to mind when I think about a wonderful father… The Pursuit of Happyness. In this movie, Will Smith’s character is trying to make the best life he can for him and his son. And there is a touching part of the movie where the father realises that being a good dad is all about encouraging your children to follow their dreams. (See the clip below). And the best part of this inspirational movie? It’s based on a true story.

 

And lastly, but by no means least, one of the lessons I learnt best from my dad was to always do your best. Whenever I did an activity or a challenge as a child or a teen (or even now for that matter) the last thing Dad says to me is, ‘Knock ’em dead, girl’. This is his way of encouraging me to do the very best I can. And I do. Thanks Dad for such wonderful lessons in life and for being the best Dad a girl could ever want. Happy Father’s Day!

What other stories can you share about a special lesson from Dad? Whether it’s your own dad, or a dad from a movie or something else, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading.

‘Til next time,

B*

About B*witching

Hi I'm Bianca, but most people call me B. I live on the beautiful Gold Coast in Australia. I'm addicted to sugar and Starburst Fruitfuls are my favourite 'hit'. I enjoy baking, but don't really like to cook. My favourite colour is purple, but I only eat green grapes. I love life, most of the time. Thanks for checking out my blog. If you haven't already, I recommend you have a read of the 'Why B*witching?' page at the top of the post.

6 responses »

  1. What a lovely post B! I don’t always get the chance to spend Father’s Day with my dad every year because we live so far apart, but this post made me remember what he taught me: I could do whatever I wanted with my life. My dad has listened to me talk about countless careers, jobs and crazy dreams over the years, and not once has he said I was crazy or couldn’t do it. Can’t ask for much more really πŸ™‚

  2. I had a quick look into your blog and Dad was looking over my shoulder, he said very quietly to himself, “Thanks, Bianks.” I think you have a very understanding and lovable father who will always be there for his “kids”.

  3. Dads always tell lame jokes and think that farts are funny!! My dad taught me about being strong and brave and never giving up and while sometimes I doubt if I possess these qualities and traits, it is one thing I will always admire about my dad.

    • I think all males, whether they are Dads or not, think farts are funny! Sometimes our best traits are not always visible to us, but become apparent when we need them most. Being strong and brave are two wonderful traits to have and I know your Dad was a shining example of this.

What do you think?

