A Secret World of Juvenile Joy

Standard

Nothing but the breeze in your hair!

Recently, after finishing my shopping at the grocery store I was heading out to my vehicle in the car park when I did something that I’m sure most adults don’t do. And, I’ll admit, I’ve done it before and I’ll do it again. And, I’ll also admit, that I loved it!

I took a few bigger steps while pushing the trolley and a few faster ones, then I leant over onto the handle and lifted my feet up off the ground. Wheeeeeeeeeee! I was off! In that moment, all my worries flew away like the breeze blowing through my hair… well, in fact all my usualworries were replaced by a new one, ‘I hope I don’t tip off the back of this damn thing!’ Hahaha!

While I know it’s a childish thing to do, it gives me this grand feeling of youth and exuberance and I know next time when I’m in the car park with a trolley (usually after the sun has gone down so I’m less likely to be noticed – but possibly also more likely to be a hit by a passing car) I will be riding along the back of the trolley again.

That got me thinking then about what other child-like things I secretly cherish.

Not a care in the world

I truly love swinging on swings. I’m not exactly sure why because I don’t really like the up and down motion (I’m not really a rides person) and I sort of have an issue with heights but something about being on a swing makes me feel alive. Perhaps it has to do with the fact I had a little one hanging from our tree in the backyard when I was about five. And I’d spend a lot of time out there when I was looking for fairies and pixies.

In the kitchen, that’s an easy one. From time to time I love nothing more than to have soft boiled eggs with soldiers. Yep, just like Mum used to make when we were kids. The eggs were cooked just enough so we could dip our cut up toast soldiers into the yolk. Yummo. I think my brother and my favourite part was turning the egg upside down in the egg cup when we had finished and telling Mum that she had forgot to crack that one open for us. And every time, without fail, Mum would come over with a little teaspoon and crack open the empty egg shell before my brother and I would nearly fall off the chair laughing. I don’t know how long she continued that joke for, going along with our silly game each time we had eggs in cups, maybe I’ll try it again next time I’m there for breakfast???

Delightfully delicious

And, speaking of food, what about the all time greatest party food… fairy bread. The combination of the soft fresh bread, the crunchy hundreds and thousands and the many wonderful memories of childhood parties, just makes fairy bread too good to resist again every time I see  it now as an adult (which sadly is not as much as perhaps I would like)!

Are there any special foods that help you relive your childhood when you eat them? Or perhaps there is something you love to do secretly because you think it’s not something anyone over 15 should do? Well, here is your chance to share it unashamedly with the world. (Or, at least with me and any other B*witching readers out there!)

And one last thing before I go, I’d like to leave you with a challenge. Next time you’re pushing the trolley back to you car, take a little ride. And I know, like me, a smile will just take over your face and you will feel at least half your age for a minute or two. Have fun!

‘Til next time,

B*

About B*witching

Hi I'm Bianca, but most people call me B. I live on the beautiful Gold Coast in Australia. I'm addicted to sugar and Starburst Fruitfuls are my favourite 'hit'. I enjoy baking, but don't really like to cook. My favourite colour is purple, but I only eat green grapes. I love life, most of the time. Thanks for checking out my blog. If you haven't already, I recommend you have a read of the 'Why B*witching?' page at the top of the post.

4 responses »

  1. Love your blog… Wow your post brought back so many memories of bike rides with streamers hanging from my handle bars, making cool ‘secret’ cubby houses and chocolate crackles.. Keep up the great posts!

  2. I loved reading this post, it brought back a lot of memories. I will admit that I too, love to go for a quick spin on the trolley when no-one is looking. I kick up my feet go for a quick spin, if I am lucky enough to find an empty aisle. Your boiled eggs and soldiers story reminded me of a funny childhood story of my own. I was about 7 or 8 when my sister and I were called inside from playing with the neighbourhood kids to have our tea. Tea for us kids was boiled eggs and soldiers. My older sister ate hers very quickly and ran back outside to play. This left me sitting at the table on my own. I glanced over at her plate and had a brilliant idea. I turned her eggs upside down and a few minutes later my dad walked by, I said “Dad, Natalie didn’t eat her tea”. Dad looked at my sisters plate and then stormed outside. Next thing I hear my poor sister receiving a slap on the behind and dad yelling at her to get inside and eat her tea. When she protested that she had indeed eaten her tea, it only earnt her another slap as she was told “don’t lie to me!”. I didn’t expect Dad to believe me, Poor Natalie!

    • Hahaha, that is a funny story. Poor Natalie, indeed! Did you ever get found out?
      Thank you for admitting you like to whizz along on the back of the trolley too when you can. 🙂

What do you think?

